top of page
  • Writer's pictureNate Greve

A Hero's Welcome

I did not want to build a bench. Everyone makes a bench or a bridge or landscapes, but I wanted to construct something grand and unique that would ensure a lasting legacy. I had been working towards my Eagle Rank for ten years, and I wanted my service project to be remembered. A wish list from a local community garden included a request to form planter beds that were accessible for the elderly. I was not passionate about the cause, nor was I excited about the scope of the project, but weeks of brainstorming had not come to fruition. I decided to choose the beds as my Eagle Project.


I built three raised planter beds for the CrossRoads Community Garden. Three feet tall, they met ADA guidelines. The beds required a total of 51 service hours from both scouts and adults, which was spread out over months of planning and execution. Finally installed in August of 2017, I was relieved to have completed my Eagle Project, though I couldn’t help but wish I had made a bigger splash.



On a Saturday several months later, the garden requested extra help from the scouts. With an unusually free schedule, it seemed appropriate for me to check on the project and help out the gardeners. As soon as I introduced myself to the volunteers, I received a hero’s welcome when they realized who I was. One woman gave me what I think is the biggest hug I’ve received to date and began to explain her jubilation when she noticed the surprise and confusion on my face.


As a result of the hurricanes that fall, the persistent rain drowned plants from other nearby community gardens. The newly installed planter beds that I had built naturally drained excess water and nurtured small plants to be strong enough to grow in the ground. These plants were then transplanted to the other gardens and reproduced to provide for food donation charities such as Feed the Hungry. Without the raised beds, there could have been a severe shortage of food donations. I couldn’t believe it; my project was bigger than I had ever imagined. Sometimes the things we don’t anticipate make the most significant impact; I never truly understood the importance of the gardens. Thinking it was just a pastime for the elderly, I didn’t realize the significance of the fresh produce, or that the gardens were providing food for the hungry. These community gardens are a source of much-needed nutrients to those in need, and I’m proud to have contributed to that effort.



Parents of younger scouts with similar aspirations for a grand Eagle project ask me to offer his or her son advice. Understanding my dedication to the program and tendency to go "over the top" and exceed requirements, they often question why I undertook a seemingly minor project. I explain that it is important to be open to answering a cry for help, even when the plea does not seem urgent or crucial. Community service organizations ask for volunteers and donations every day. While their mission may not appear critical, it is often more imperative than the general public may think. A contribution to the community through service does not have to be grand, timely, or expensive to ensure a lasting legacy; a positive impact is ensured if it is thoroughly completed whole-heartedly and to the best of your ability.



Note: This story was submitted as one of my college application essays in 2019 and 2020.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page